My Birthday

Today is my 64th birthday. Shawn, if you ever read this, maybe you will understand how much I miss you and how much my heart is broken.

Dad took me out for dinner at Aubrey’s. Dinner was delicious and it was a nice time. We had a few errands to run on the way home. The sadness just washed over me and I had to fight back the tears. All I wanted for my birthday was a text, a call, a card, anything from Shawn. I knew it was a silly thing to cry over and even sillier to expect it, but I did anyway. I’m missing a small piece of my heart and I want it back. I want that hole filled again.

Mike and Joyce came over and I didn’t think anything, until Cory walked in with a pineapple with a balloon, followed by Katie with flowers and a cake. Dad had planned this surprise and sure enough, again I was fighting back the tears, but this time they were happy tears. The pineapple has been a joke for a few years but it has brought smiles ever since. Cory and Katie were coming to dinner at our house for Mother’s Day a few years ago. They stopped at the grocery store to pick up flowers for me, and there were none left! They didn’t want to show up with nothing for Mother’s Day, but they noticed the display of pineapples. There wasn’t even a Mother’s Day balloon to be had anywhere, so they brought me a pineapple with a Happy Birthday balloon. We all had such a good laugh.

I really needed this tonight. I only wish I could talk to Rylan and Gianni. I know both of them would have been on the phone calling me if they were with their moms as both Christina and Jenny wished me happy birthday this morning.

Leave a comment